James McFall Award

James McFall Trophy

James McFall Award

James Mc Fall Trophy 

The James McFall Trophy is the most prestigious award presented by the Alberta Lacrosse Association to a volunteer who has made a significant contribution to the game of Lacrosse in Alberta.  This trophy has its roots in Alberta and was presented to the Alberta Lacrosse Association in the memory of James McFall by Dominion Construction Ltd. 

James Russell McFall senior, was born in Olds, Alberta and graduated from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Science degree in agriculture in 1927.  He then spent a considerable amount of time in southern Alberta where he met and married his wife Florence and took up residence in Calgary. 

On March 11, 1948, Jim and Florence had the first of four children.  The first child, a healthy baby boy, was named after his father and within the next couple of years a son Russell and a daughter Patricia were born in Calgary.  In 1953, Jim McFall Sr. moved the family to Edmonton where they purchased a house in the North Glenora district in West Edmonton.  In 1954, a son Bob arrived to complete the family unit. 

Jim McFall spent his whole childhood in the North Glenora community and did all his schooling in Edmonton.  He attended Coronation Elementary School, Westminister Junior High School, Ross Shepherd High School, and the University of Alberta where he graduated with a Civil Engineering degree in 1970.  Upon graduation is 1970, Jim McFall began work with Dominion Construction and worked with them until his death in 1979. 

One of Jim's most passionate interests in sport was hockey and where most kids aspire to become hockey players, Jim concentrated his efforts in the area of refereeing hockey, and at the time of his death was considered a senior minor hockey official in the Edmonton area.  Jim's Lacrosse career began in 1966 when the North Glenora Midget hockey team decided to take up the challenge of Lacrosse during the summer with the goal of being the Alberta representative at the first Canada games in 1969 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.  From 1966 to 1969, Jim was involved in playing, coaching, and refereeing in game of Lacrosse as it was developing in the City of Edmonton.  In 1969, the North Glenora Blues, with Jim as one of the captains of the team won the right to represent Alberta at Canada Games in Halifax.  It was a tremendous Lacrosse experience for everyone who was involved with the team and was the first national tournament that an Alberta team had attended in the modern era of Lacrosse in Alberta. 

After 1969, Jim confined his efforts to refereeing and became a Senior Referee within the Province of Alberta.  He served as Referee-in-Chief for a number of years and was known as an honest and knowledgeable official.  In May of 1978, Jim McFall passed away in his sleep at the age of 29.  At that time, he was serving as a co-chairman of the Lacrosse Committee for the 1978 Commonwealth Games in Edmonton.  He was survived by his wife Marg who continues to reside in the Edmonton area today. 

Shortly after his death, Dominion Construction Ltd. commissioned artist John Weaver to sculpture the figure that you see on this trophy today.  Since that time the Alberta Lacrosse Association has awarded this trophy to a number of individuals who have made a commitment to good sportsmanship and to the development of the game of Lacrosse.


Past Recipients

James McFall Past Recipients

1981          John Tayler

1982          Pete. Benstead

1984          Cec Jahrig

1985          Jim Burke

1988          Merv Miles

1989          Al Boykiw

1990          Steve Goodwin

1991          Warren Renden

1991          Tom McCaskill Sr.

1992          No Recipient

1993          No Recipient

1994          Sandy Bennie

1995          Nora Spenrath                             

1996          Peter Sonnen               

1997          Jim Shelley                  

1998          Harris Toth

1999          Jim Lovgren                                             

2000          Stew Begg          

2001          Larry Howard  

2002          Charles Biers

2003          AJ Jomha

2004          Mike Malone

2005          Tom Engel

2006          Harold Albrecht

2007          Leslie Churchill

2008          Glenn Tackaberry

2009           Duane Bratt

2010          Calvin Zwack

2011          Janet Kirkaldy

2012          Brad Banister

2013          Christine Thielen

2014          Lee Carlyle

2015           Marc Bourret

2016           Wayne Sutherland

2017          John Kilbride

2018        Todd Lorenz

2019        John Eng

Thank you for your support!

Upcoming Events